Get 2,500 Naira Bonus on Opay

Ebira News

NBC revokes Tao FM, AIT, Silverbird and other 30 Stations licences, orders immediate shutdown – See Reason


NBC revokes Tao FM, AIT, Silverbird and other 30 Stations licences, orders immediate shutdown – See Reason

Share this article

The Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation has ordered the immediate shutdown of 33 stations and revoked their licences across Nigeria, in which the very first Ebira Radio Station (Tao FM) is among.

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has revoked the licences of Tao FM AIT, Silverbird TV, Raypower FM, and Rhythm FM amongst others.

The licences of the broadcast media organisations, it was learnt, ware revoked over failure to meet up with the renewal requirements, which amounts to N2.66 billion.

Director General of the NBC Mallam Balarabe Shehu has directed its state offices to liaise with security agencies to ensure the shut down of the operation of the stations is enforced within the next 24 hours.

According to a statement by NBC on Friday, the move followed the publication of a list of stations yet to renew their licences.

The commission informed that a two-week waiver was given to broadcast stations in May, after which they risked the revocation of their broadcast licences.

The NBC said three months after the publication, “some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly section 10(a) of the third schedule of the Act.

“Therefore, after due consideration, NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the stations and gives them 24 hours to shut down their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby directed to collaborate with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance.

“The broadcast regulator said the continued operation of the “debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security,” it said.

Meanwhile, the commission has called on other broadcast stations yet to renew their licences for the present duration to meet up within the next 30 days to avoid sanctions.

It said, “The Commission also calls on all IPTV (Internet Protocol Television) and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the Commission to avoid disconnection.

“Broadcasters should note that having a DTT or FM license does not warrant a broadcaster to stream online; they are two different licences,” it added.

List of Stations That are Affected

1Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communication Co. Ltd)Network
2Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd)FM Abuja
3Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd)FM Lagos
4Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd)FM Yenagoa
5Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd)FM Port-Harcourt
6Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd)FM Jos
7Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd)Benin
8AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication Ltd.)Network
9Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd)FM Network
10Tao FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd)FM Okene
11Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd)FM Suleja
12Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd)FM Abuja
13We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd)FM Benin
14Linksman International Ltd)Keffi
15Bomay Broadcasting Services LtdAbuja
16MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan
17Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd)Port-Harcourt
18Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd)Lagos
19Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd)Lagos
20Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD)Lagos
21Cooper Communication ltdLagos
22Splash Fm (West Midlands Ltd)Ibadan
23Rock City FM (Boot Communications Ltd)Abeokuta
24Family FM (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd)Ilugun
25Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd)Ibadan
26Radio JeremiEffunrun
27Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd)Akure
28Vibes FM (Vibes Communications)Benin
29Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd)Port-Harcourt
30Wave FM (South AtlanticMedia Ltd)Port-Harcourt
31Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation
32Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation
33Niger State Broadcasting Corporation

Responses (2)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *