Buy Ebira Native Attires.
EducationKogi NewsNews

Kogi State Identifies Schools Evading WAEC Verification, Unveils Full List


Kogi State Identifies Schools Evading WAEC Verification, Unveils Full List

Share this article
Kogi State Identifies Schools Evading WAEC Verification, Unveils Full List

The Kogi State Ministry of Education has disclosed the names of 27 secondary schools whose principals failed to attend the verification of their students’ registers. The revelation comes after the State Commissioner for Education, Hon. Wemi Jones, accused certain school principals of clandestinely adding 7,702 nonexistent students to their registers, undermining the state government’s free education policy.

During a press conference held in Lokoja on Thursday, Commissioner Jones highlighted that the verified authentic register contained 15,033 students eligible for the free West African Examination Council (WAEC) registration fees, a policy initiated by Governor Yahaya Bello.

The Commissioner revealed that Governor Bello had approved N497 million for the payment of the 2023 WAEC examination fees for students in public schools. Subsequently, some principals were alleged to have surreptitiously introduced ghost students into their registers.

List of Schools Not Present for 2024 WAEC Verification in Kogi State:

Ankpa LGA:

  1. Community of Arabic and Islamies, Ankpa.
  2. Community Secondary School, Okenyi.
  3. Enjema Community Secondary School, Ofugo.
  4. Government Girls Science Secondary, Okanekpo.
  5. Government Science School, Enabo.
  6. Government Girls Science Secondary School, Okaba.
  7. Young Muslim Secondary School, Ankpa.
  8. Awo Community Secondary Commercial College.
  9. United Evangelical Church Secondary School, Ankpa.
  10. Okay Community Secondary School, Ika.
  11. Attarbiyatul Islamiya Secondary School, Okaba.
  12. Local Government Special Day Secondary School, Ankpa.

Dekina LGA:

  1. Government Science Secondary School, Olowa.
  2. Ukpo Community Secondary School.
  3. Community Secondary School, Agbada II.
  4. Oganenigwu Community Secondary School.
  5. Government Secondary School, Odu.

Igalamela/Odolu LGA:

  1. Avrugo District Community Secondary School.
  2. Community Secondary School, Ugwaka-Olla.
  3. Government Special Science College Ankpa.

Ofu LGA:

  1. Community Secondary School, Ugwolawo.

Olamaboro LGA:

  1. Government Day Secondary School, Ikem-Ogugu.

Omala LGA:

  1. Community Science School, Olla.
  2. Bahama Community Secondary School.
  3. Government Day Secondary School, Abejukolo.
  4. Government Science Secondary School, Ogodu.
  5. Ife Community Secondary School.

It was also announced that candidates who failed WAEC could now register for the examination in public schools in Kogi state at no cost to the State Government. School principals must provide evidence of the failed results for such candidates to be cleared before registration is permitted. Additionally, all schools in the Bassa, Ibaji, and Idah LGAs from Kogi East have been cleared for verification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *